The Game

 

Quaterback:
The quarterback is the playmaker. He informs the other players of the planned turn, reverses the Offensive Coordinator’s tactic, and initiates the moves.

Runningback:
The running back receives the ball from the QB by handing over or a short pass. He tries to run the ball as far as possible towards the enemy end zone.

Wide Receiver:
The wide receiver runs a previously discussed route to a specific position and tries to catch the ball. After catching, he can continue with the ball.

Tight End:
The tight end stands next to the O-Line and is used either as a blocker or as a receiver.

Offebse Line:
The offensive linemen are usually the heaviest players on the team. They are to protect the quarterback from the opposing defense to give him as much time as possible for throwing a passport. In running games, the O-Line must create gaps in the running back so that it can gain as much space as possible.

Defense Back:
The defensive backs are the backspace defenders. These include the corner backs, which are placed on the outside opposite the wide receivers and the safeties (Free Safety and Strong Safety), which are in the backfield. The defensive backs should interfere with the receivers catching and prevent the catch, but also help in the defense.

Linebacker:
The linebackers are the most versatile defensive players and must be fast, athletic and tactically variable. They either cover individual players or defend a zone. You must be able to defend against the run and against the pass.

Defense Line:
The defensive line – as well as heavyweights like the O-Line – should disturb the offense already during the game build-up. The D-Liner should put the quarterback under pressure and prevent the passport or stop the running back early.

 

 
 
Touchdown:

The goal of every offense. There are 6 points for this. Prerequisite, the ball was brought into the end zone – either by running or passing game.

 
         
  Safety:

… is a score (2) of defense in which she brings down an opposing ball carrier in its end zone.

 
         
  Firstdown:
1st attempt. Term for reaching a new series of 4 Attack attempts to gain 10 yards of space.
 
         
       Face Mask:

Foul in which a player grabs the opponent in the helmet grille.Strafe: 15 yards.

 
         
  Holding:

Unauthorized detention or obstruction of an opponent player. Penalty: 10 yards.

 
         
       Pass Interference:
After the ball is in a Passspielzug in the air, neither the potential passport receiver nor the pass defender may touch or hinder.
 
         
       Incomplete:
Incomplete passport. Forward pass that is not caught and thus becomes invalid. Adjusted extra point or fell goal attempt.
 
         
  Delay of Game:

Exceeding the 25-second limit for starting a turn. Penalty: 5 yards.

 
         
  False Start:

A player of the offense moves within a second of the snap. Exceptions: Motion – An offline player may move in parallel or away from the line of scrimmage. Penalty: 5 yards.

 
         
       Illigal Motion:
Movement of more than one player before the start of a turn – while the offense is already in formation. Penalty: 5 yards.
 
         
  Illigal Contact:

Each touch of a receiver by a defender after the receiver has bridged 5 yards. Penalties: 15 yards.

 
         
       Offside:

A defense player is in the neutral zone during the snapshot (the area covers the ball length). Penalty: 5 yards.

 
         
       Personal Foul:

A player is attacked after the whistle of the turn. Penalties: 15 yards.

 
         
       Player Ejected:

For particularly severe fouls a player of the course is expelled and locked for at least 1 game.

 
         
  Time Out:

Sign for Referee Time Out or Injury Time Out. Not to be confused with team time outs.

Football is all about gaining space and reaching the end zone. The attacking team (Offense) has four attempts to conquer at least 10 yards of space. If successful, she will receive four more tries for another 10 yards. If this does not succeed, the other team is in possession of the ball. An attempt ends where the ball carrier or pass receiver has either been knocked down or forced out. This is where the new attempt begins. The goal is a touchdown. This is when it is possible to bring the ball over the goal line in the enemy end zone – either by carrying the ball in the end zone or by catching the ball in the end zone. After a touchdown, the successful team gets an additional point (extra point) from three yards away to the goal line. The ball can either be kicked through the goal bars. There is 1 point for this and that means Point after Touchdown (PAT). However, it can also be attempted to carry the ball over the goal line again or to catch it in the end zone. If this succeeds, there are 2 points and one speaks of a Two Point Conversion (TPC).

Another opportunity for the offense to score points is the field goal. The ball is also kicked through the goal bars and there are 3 points. Field Goals are attempted when reaching a new first attempt (first down) seems relatively hopeless, but the offense is at a distance to the goalposts from which a hit is possible.

The defending team (Defense) can also score points by knocking down the opposing team’s ball-bearing player in their own end zone. This is a safety and gives 2 points.

Once a team has scored points, the kick-off takes place as at the start of the game, kicking the ball as far as possible from its own 35-yard line into half of the opponent.

There he is – if possible – recorded and carried back. At the point where the ball carrier is stopped, begins the attack of the team that is now in possession of the ball. So that spectators and teams can recognize where the 10 yards are to be bridged and how many attempts are made, there is the so-called chain crew.

It consists of 3 people holding two boundary posts connected with a 10 yard chain and the down marker. The down marker indicates the attempt and is always on the line of scrimmage (LOS), ie the imaginary line on which a move begins.

If the offense has failed to bridge the 10 yards after 3 attempts and it seems too risky to leave the ball to the opponent in case of failure of the 4th attempt at this point, one chooses a punt – a liberation kick – or one Field goal. With the punt you can neither score nor gain space, but you bring the opponent in a much less favorable position.

A football game is divided into quarters, each with 12 minutes of effective play time. The interruptions between the individual moves ensure that a game is usually between 2 1/2 and 3 hours long. After every quarter the pages are changed. Two quarterbacks are a halftime. After the first half, there is a break.

Not everything is allowed in American football – even if it sometimes looks like that. An extensive set of rules ensures that football is a tough, but by no means brutal game.

On the field are 5 referees – men / women in black and white striped shirts and white pants. They have different tasks. Only the referee (chief referee) can recognize his decision, recognizable by his white cap, others wearing black.

If a foul is detected, the referee will throw a yellow flag. After completing the turn, he explains to the referee what he has seen. He imposes the penalty (loss of space) and passes it on in the form of a hand signal to the audience.

There are different degrees of fouls that are punished with 5, 10 or 15 yard loss of space. In some fouls loses the offense also a try. For particularly serious offenses, a single player can additionally be ejected.

Is football really that expensive? How much equipment does the man need? What is required and what does it cost?

 

Mandatory equipment:
helmet 
mouthguard
Shoulderpads
Hip and coccyx pad
Thigh and knee pads
about 129,-
about 2,-
about 79,-
about 15,-
about 20,-

Recommended equipment:

jockstrap
gloves
Shoes (every football boot without studs!)
Balls of steal

about 10,-
about 30,-

priceless

Further info: Full equipment is available from 300, – (including training jersey and pants). Used equipment is much cheaper!

Interested parties get the equipment initially provided by us!

Das Spiel

 

Quaterback:
Der Quarterback ist der Spielmacher. Er teilt den anderen Spielern den geplanten Spielzug mit, setzt die Taktik des Offensive Coordinators um und leitet die Spielzüge ein.

Runningback:
Der Running Back erhält den Ball vom QB durch Übergabe oder einen kurzen Pass. Er versucht, mit dem Ball so weit wie möglich in Richtung gegnerische Endzone zu laufen.

Wide Receiver:
Der Wide Receiver läuft eine vorher abgesprochene Route zu einer bestimmten Position und versucht den Ball zu fangen. Nach dem Fang kann er mit dem Ball weiterlaufen.

Tight End:
Der Tight End stellt sich neben der O-Line auf und wird entweder als Blocker oder als Receiver eingesetzt.

Offebse Line:
Die Offensive Linemen sind meist die schwergewichtigsten Spieler des Teams. Sie sollen den Quarterback vor der gegnerischen Defense schützen, um ihm möglichst viel Zeit für das Werfen eines Passes zu geben. Bei Laufspielzügen muss die O-Line dem Running Back Lücken schaffen, damit er möglichst viel Raumgewinn erzielen kann.

Defense Back:
Die Defensive Backs sind die Rückraumverteidiger. Zu ihnen gehören die Corner Backs, die außen gegenüber den Wide Receivern aufgestellt werden und die Safeties (Free Safety und Strong Safety), die im Backfield stehen. Die Defensive Backs sollen die Receiver beim Passfang stören und den Fang verhindern, helfen aber auch bei der Laufverteidigung.

Linebacker:
Die Linebacker sind die vielseitigsten Abwehrspieler und müssen schnell, athletisch und taktisch variabel sein. Sie decken entweder einzelne Spieler oder verteidigen eine Zone. Sie müssen gegen den Lauf und gegen den Pass verteidigen können.

Defense Line:
Die Defensive Line – ebenso aus Schwergewichten bestehend wie die O-Line – soll die Offense schon beim Spielaufbau stören. Die D-Liner sollen den Quarterback unter Druck setzen und am Passwurf hindern oder den Running Back frühzeitig stoppen.

 
 
Touchdown:
Das Ziel jeder Offense. Hierfür gibt es 6 Punkte. Voraussetzung, der Ball wurde in die Endzone gebracht – entweder durch Lauf- oder Passspiel.
 
         
  Safety:
…ist ein Punkten (2) der Defense, in dem sie einen gegnerischen Ballträger in seiner Endzone zu Boden bringt.
 
         
  Firstdown:
1. Versuch. Bezeichnung für das Erreichen einer neuen Serie von 4 Angriffsversuchen um 10 Yards Raumgewinn zu erzielen.
 
         
       Face Mask:
Foul, bei dem ein Spieler dem Gegner in das Helmgitter greift.Strafe: 15 Yards.
 
         
  Holding:
Unerlaubtes Festhalten oder Behindern eines gegnerischen Spielers.Strafe: 10 Yards.
 
         
       Pass Interference:
Nachdem der Ball bei einem Passspielzug in der Luft ist, dürfen sich weder der potentielle Passempfänger noch der Passverteidiger berühren oder behindern.
 
         
       Incomplete:
Unvollständiger Pass. Vorwärtspass, der nicht gefangen und somit ungültig wird.Verpasster Extrapunkt- oder Fiel Goal-Versuch.
 
         
  Delay of Game:
Überschreiten des 25 Sekunden Limits für den Beginn eines Spielzugs.Strafe: 5 Yards.
 
         
  False Start:
Ein Spieler der Offense bewegt sich innerhalb einer Sekunde vor dem Snap. Ausnahmen: Motion  –  Hierbei darf sich ein offline gestellter Spieler parallel oder von der Line of Scrimmage weg bewegen.
Strafe: 5 Yards.
 
         
       Illigal Motion:
Bewegung von mehr als einem Spieler vor dem Beginn eines Spielzuges – während die Offense schon in Formation steht.Strafe: 5 Yards.
 
         
  Illigal Contact:
Jede Berührung eines Receivers durch einen Verteidiger nachdem der Receiver 5 Yards überbrückt hat.Strafe: 15 Yards.
 
         
       Offside:
Ein Defense Spieler befindet sich während des Snaps in der neutralen Zone (der Bereich umfasst die Balllänge).Strafe: 5 Yards.
 
         
       Personal Foul:
Ein Spieler wird nach dem Abpfiff des Spielzuges attackiert.Strafe: 15 Yards.
 
         
       Player Ejected:
Bei besonders schweren Fouls wird ein Spieler des Platzes verwiesen und für mind. 1 Spiel gesperrt.
 
         
  Time Out:
Zeichen für Schiedsrichter Time Out oder Verletzungs Time Out.
Nicht zu verwechseln mit Mannschafts Time Outs.

Beim American Football dreht sich alles um Raumgewinn und das Erreichen der Endzone. Die angreifende Mannschaft (Offense) hat vier Versuche, um mindestens 10 Yards Raum zu erobern. Gelingt dies, erhält sie vier weitere Versuche für wiederum 10 Yards. Gelingt dies nicht, kommt das andere Team in Ballbesitz. Ein Versuch endet dort, wo der Ballträger oder Passempfänger entweder durch einen Tackle zu Boden gebracht oder ins Aus gedrängt wurde. Hier beginnt auch der neue Versuch.

Das Ziel ist ein Touchdown . Der ist gegeben, wenn es gelingt, den Ball über die Goalline in die gegnerische Endzone zu bringen – entweder durch Tragen des Balles in die Endzone oder durch Fangen des Balles in der Endzone.

Nach einem Touchdown bekommt das erfolgreiche Team einen Zusatzversuch (Extra point) aus drei Yards Entfernung zur Goalline. Der Ball kann dabei entweder durch die Torstangen gekickt werden. Dafür gibt es 1 Punkt und das heißt Point after Touchdown (PAT). Es kann aber auch versucht werden, den Ball wieder über die Goalline zu tragen oder in der Endzone zu fangen. Gelingt dies, gibt es 2 Punkte und man spricht von einer Two Point Conversion (TPC).

Eine weitere Möglichkeit für die Offense, Punkte zu erzielen ist das Field Goal. Dabei wird der Ball ebenfalls durch die Torstangen gekickt und dafür gibt es 3 Punkte. Field Goals werden versucht, wenn das Erreichen eines neuen ersten Versuchs (First Down) relativ aussichtslos erscheint, sich die Offense aber in einer Entfernung zu den Torstangen befindet, aus der ein Treffer möglich ist.

Auch das verteidigende Team (Defense ) kann Punkte erzielen, in dem sie den Ball tragenden Spieler der gegnerischen Mannschaft in deren eigener Endzone zu Boden bringt. Dies ist ein Safety und gibt 2 Punkte.

Nach dem Punktgewinn eines Teams erfolgt wie bei Spielbeginn der Kickoff, bei dem der Ball von der eigenen 35-Yard-Linie so weit wie möglich in die Hälfte des Gegners gekickt wird.

Dort wird er – wenn möglich – aufgenommen und zurück getragen. An der Stelle, an der der Ballträger gestoppt wird, beginnt der Angriff des Teams, das jetzt in Ballbesitz ist.

Damit Zuschauer und Teams erkennen können, wo die zu überbrückenden 10 Yards enden und der wievielte Versuch gespielt wird, gibt es die so genannte Chaincrew. Sie besteht aus 3 Leuten, die zwei mit einer 10 Yard langen Kette verbundenen Begrenzungspfosten und den Downmarker halten. Der Downmarker zeigt den Versuch an und steht immer an der Line of Scrimmage (LOS), also der gedachten Linie, an der ein Spielzug beginnt.

Ist es der Offense nach 3 Versuchen nicht gelungen, die 10 Yards zu überbrücken und erscheint es zu riskant, den Ball bei Misslingen des 4. Versuchs an dieser Stelle dem Gegner zu überlassen, entscheidet man sich für einen Punt – einen Befreiungskick – oder für ein Field Goal. Mit dem Punt kann man weder punkten noch Raumgewinn erzielen, aber man bringt den Gegner in eine weitaus ungünstigere Position.

Ein Footballspiel ist in Viertel (Quarter) unterteilt, die jeweils 12 Minuten effektive Spielzeit lang sind. Die Unterbrechungen zwischen den einzelnen Spielzügen sorgen dafür, dass ein Spiel normalerweise zwischen 2 1/2 und 3 Stunden lang ist. Nach jedem Quarter werden die Seiten gewechselt. Zwei Quarter sind eine Halbzeit. Nach Beendigung der ersten Halbzeit gibt es eine Pause.

Beim American Football ist nicht alles erlaubt – auch wenn es manchmal so aussieht. Ein umfangreiches Regelwerk sorgt dafür, dass Football zwar ein hartes, aber keineswegs brutales Spiel ist.

Auf dem Spielfeld befinden sich 5 Schiedsrichter – Herren/Damen in den schwarz/weiß gestreiften Hemden und weißen Hosen. Sie haben unterschiedliche Aufgaben. Entscheidungsgewalt hat nur der Referee (Hauptschiedsrichter), zu erkennen an der weißen Mütze, die anderen tragen schwarz.

Wird ein Foul erkannt, wirft der Schiedsrichter eine gelbe Flagge. Nach Beendigung des Spielzuges erklärt er dem Referee, was er gesehen hat. Der verhängt die Strafe (Raumverlust) und gibt sie in Form von Handzeichen an die Zuschauer weiter.

Es gibt unterschiedlich schwere Fouls, die mit 5, 10 oder 15 Yard Raumverlust bestraft werden. Bei manchen Fouls verliert die Offense auch noch einen Versuch. Bei besonders schweren Vergehen kann ein einzelner Spieler zusätzlich vom Platz gestellt (ejected) werden.

Ist Football wirklich so teuer? Wie viel Ausrüstung braucht der Mann? Was ist vorgeschrieben und was kostet das?

Pflichtausrüstung:
Helm
Mundschutz
Shoulderpads
Hüft- und Steißbeinpad
Oberschenkel- und Kniepads
ab 129,-
ab 2,-
ab 79,-
ab 15,-
ab 20,-
Empfehlenswerte Ausrüstung:
Suspensorium
Handschuhe
Schuhe (jeder Fußballschuh ohne Stollen!)Eier
ab 10,-
ab 30,-unbezahlbar

Weitere Infos: Ordentliche Komplett-Ausrüstungen gibt es bereits ab 300 ,- (inkl. Trainings-Trikot und Hosen). Gebrauchte Ausrüstungen sind weitaus günstiger!

Interessenten bekommen die Ausrüstung anfangs von uns gestellt!